Members of the 2008 Manitoba Electoral Boundaries Commission

Richard J. Scott

Manitoba Chief Justice

Richard J. Scott The Honourable Chief Justice of Manitoba Richard J. Scott became Chief Justice of Manitoba (Court of Appeal) in 1990 and first chaired the Commission in 1998. He holds a distinguished record of judicial appointments starting with Associate Chief Justice of the Court of Queen’s Bench in 1985. He has chaired committees on judicial independence and ethical principles for judges. Since 2000, he has been first vice-chair of the Canadian Judicial Council and Chairman of the Judicial Conduct Committee of the Canadian Judicial Council. Chief Justice Scott has shared his experience through presentations at international judiciary conferences in Canada, Ethiopia, Australia and New Zealand.

Richard D. Balasko

Chief Electoral Officer

Richard D. BalaskoRichard D. Balasko became Manitoba's Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) in 1990 after gaining 10 years of electoral experience as deputy chief electoral officer and serving as executive assistant to Canada's Chief Electoral Officer. Mr. Balasko served on the 1998 Electoral Divisions Boundaries Commission, and he was secretary to the commission in 1988 and 1978.

As CEO, Mr. Balasko has been accountable for the conduct of five provincial general elections plus by-elections as well as ongoing accountabilities under The Elections Finances Act. In addition to a Bachelor of Arts degree from University of Manitoba, Mr. Balasko has received a Master of Arts in Canadian Politics at the U of M and completed Ph.D course work in International Relations and Canadian Politics at Queen's University in Ontario. He has provided international electoral assistance as a United Nations training facilitator and an election observer in a number of countries in Europe, Asia and Central America.

Denise K. Henning, Ph.D.

President and Vice-Chancellor, University College of the North

Denise K. Henning, Ph.DDr. Denise K. Henning's education background includes degrees in urban studies and public administration (with an emphasis on qualitative research) from the University of Nebraska at Omaha. She also completed her doctoral degree from New Mexico State University in Educational Administration, Higher Education with emphasis in Educational Anthropology.

Dr. Henning has developed a reputation for building relationships through a collaborative and team-spirited approach. Dr. Henning has dedicated her life to working towards inclusion and equity in academia and to increasing the knowledge and appreciation of the many heritages of Aboriginal peoples in North America.

Richard Sigurdson, Ph.D

Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Professor of Political Studies, University of Manitoba [1]

Richard Sigurdson, Ph.DDr. Richard Sigurdson received his Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts degrees from the University of Manitoba before completing his Ph.D. at the University of Toronto. In 1998-99 he returned to U of M as a visiting scholar in political studies. He later joined the U of M faculty in 2004 after serving as chairperson of University of New Brunswick's political science department. Dr. Sigurdson has published on topics ranging from party politics in Canada to immigration policy and the Charter of Rights and he has served as a political analyst for television, radio and the print media.

Louis Visentin, Ph.D

President and Vice-Chancellor at Brandon University

Louis Visentin, Ph.D Dr. Louis Visentin received science degrees from St. Francis Xavier University and University of Detroit before completing his Ph.D. at the University of Michigan (Ann Arbour). His broad experience on boards and councils includes chairing the Science Council of Newfoundland and working in molecular biology and biotechnology with the National Research Council. Dr. Visentin has also served in senior academic and research positions for Memorial University, Mount Allison University and University of New Brunswick. In 2000, Dr. Visentin began his term as President at Brandon University.


[1] Section 8 of The Electoral Divisions Act states presidents of the universities named above will serve on the boundaries commission. However, if a university president is unavailable section 8(6) allows that university's dean of the faculty of arts to serve on the commission.