Manitoba Electoral Divisions Boundaries Commission


The Commission is non-partisan and independent in its actions. This is ensured by the make-up of the Commission, as set out in The Electoral Divisions Act. The Commission is made up of five members:

View members of the 2018 Commission

Historical Overview

On March 31, 1955, The Electoral Divisions Act created an independent commission to make recommendations concerning the area and boundaries of provincial electoral divisions. As Manitoba’s population changes, it is necessary to review electoral boundaries to ensure effective representation for everyone. If a division has a significant increase or decrease in population, the boundaries for that division might need to change.

The original Electoral Divisions Boundaries Commission members were Manitoba’s Chief Justice, the President of the University of Manitoba and the Chief Electoral Officer for Manitoba.

When it was first in effect, the Act required that redistribution be based on the 1956 census of population taken by Statistics Canada or of any tenth year thereafter. The Commission meets every 10 years (using the most recent census data) and must submit its report by December 31 in the year it meets. The most recent boundaries review was in 2008. Manitoba has been at the forefront of ensuring that electoral redistribution is undertaken in a non-partisan manner by an independent and statutory commission.