New Provincial Electoral Division Boundaries Proposed

Manitoba’s Electoral Divisions Boundaries Commission has released its interim report on proposed changes to Manitoba’s electoral map. The report outlines the proposed boundaries for the 57 electoral divisions in the province. The Commission wishes to acknowledge those who provided the 46 submissions during the first phase of the process, prior to the release of the interim report.

The Commission used the Statistics Canada 2016 Census figures for the proposed boundaries. The change in the electoral map reflects a decade of population shift within the province. Other factors taken into consideration include communities of interest or identity, geographic features, projected population changes, existing municipal boundaries and Indigenous communities.

The interim report, along with maps showing the proposed electoral division boundaries with their proposed names and populations, are posted on the Electoral Divisions Boundaries Commission website, at


The Commission welcomes public submissions on the proposed maps and names at upcoming public hearings. Interested groups or individuals may choose one of the following ways to provide their submission:

  1. Make a submission on the Commission website.
  2. Send your submission by mail, fax or email.

Register in advance to present at one of the public hearings. Registration may be done on the Commission website, by phone or email. As part of the Commission’s broad consultation process, public hearings will be held as follows:

Monday September 10, 2018, 10:00a.m.
Promenade B – Norwood Hotel, 112 Marion Street, Winnipeg

Tuesday September 11, 2018, 10:00a.m.
Town of Churchill – Overpass, 180 La Vérendrye Avenue, Churchill

Tuesday September 11, 2018, 5:00p.m.
Best Western Thompson Hotel and Suites, 205 Mystery Lake Road, Thompson

Wednesday September 12, 2018, 10:00a.m.
Northern Room – Victoria Inn, 160 Highway 10-A North, Flin Flon

Wednesday September 12, 2018, 5:00p.m.
Rotary Room – Sam Waller Museum, 306 Fischer Avenue, The Pas

Thursday September 13, 2018, 10:00a.m.
Lion’s Den – Parkland Recreation Complex, 200 – 1st Street SE, Dauphin

Thursday September 13, 2018, 5:00p.m.
Salon 3 – Victoria Inn, 3550 Victoria Avenue, Brandon

Tuesday September 18, 2018, 10:00a.m.
Sunova Room – Sun-Gro Centre, 360 Veterans Lane, Beausejour

Tuesday September 18, 2018, 5:00p.m.
Multipurpose Room – Mennonite Heritage Village, Highway 12, Steinbach

Wednesday September 19, 2018, 10:00a.m.
Quality Inn, 851 Main Street, Winkler

Wednesday September 19, 2018, 5:00p.m.
Best Western Plus Pembina Inn & Suites, 1714 Pembina Highway

Thursday September 20, 2018, 10:00a.m.
Lakeview Hotel, 10 Centre Street, Gimli

Thursday September 20, 2018, 5:00p.m.
Canad Inn Garden City, 2100 McPhillips Street, Winnipeg

To make a submission or for further information:

Jacynth Lagacé, Secretary
Manitoba Electoral Divisions Boundaries Commission
120-200 Vaughan Street
Winnipeg MB R3C 1T5
Phone: 204 945-5755
Toll Free: 1 866 628-6837
Fax: 204 945-6011

– 30 –

For media inquiries:
Alison Mitchell, Manager of Communications and Public Information
Phone: 204 945-7379

Download PDF